Foreign information

Current location:Home > News > Foreign information

China for iron ore pricing can not rely on the internal transaction size is more important

Date:2016-10-24 22:01:03 Visits:

The Dalian Mercantile Exchange, China's iron ore futures trading scale is 20 times more than the Singapore Exchange, but Goldman pointed out that the size of the transaction does not determine the Chinese election have iron ore pricing, more instead, changes of the small size of the transaction of the Singapore daily iron ore prices continued to affect the dce. This is why?

Iron ore pricing power

Although iron ore futures began trading in 2009, but the volume growth is very rapid. 2016, iron ore futures average daily turnover of 7 billion U.S. dollars, equivalent to the New York commodity exchange (NYMEX) WTI day trading volume of 20%, iron ore has become an important investment products on the market. As the world's largest iron ore consumer, has been China for iron ore pricing in order to break the foreign monopoly index so as to change the situation, the steel industry in the end China cost of heteronomy.

Goldman Sachs believes that compared to the DCE, more in the new institutional investors, and individual speculators less, this may explain why little correlation between DCE and the huge trading volume pricing. In SGX, institutional investors 90% of the transaction, but individual investors dominated the DCE 70% transactions. Therefore, the transaction in the big business turnover rate is far higher than the sgx.

However, despite the overall impact of the big business is new Suoxun color, but Goldman observed when stabilize or iron ore prices rose sharply when the DCE's influence has a rising trend. This may be related to a lot of domestic investors have stronger speculation.

This year, the big business of iron ore futures prices rose 38%. Driven by speculative trading, this year 3, April, the domestic iron ore futures soared. Big business has taken a series of measures, including the "cool" to improve the variety of contract price limits, increase the minimum trading margin, cancel open fee concessions, to prevent potential risks. In August September, iron ore futures contract business again soaring, topped the April speculative boom climb the top of the record closing high.

Improve the expected demand, a large number of China investors into the commodities futures market in the beginning of the year, but Bloomberg quoted the Australian miner FortescueMetalsGroup believes that such a high level of speculative trading is not healthy.

The industry believes that, by contrast, do the "winter" to prepare the occasion in mining enterprises, Chinese iron and steel industry in the fight for the right to speak, the more practice skills, starting from resolving overcapacity, improve the efficiency, to deal with the "winter".

对外交流

当前位置:首页 > 新闻中心 > 对外交流

中国要争铁矿石定价权不能靠交易规模 内功更重要

日期:2016-10-24 22:01:03 浏览次数:

我国大连商品交易所的铁矿石期货交易规模是新加坡交易所的20多倍,不过高盛指出,交易规模的大选并不能决定中国有更多的铁矿石定价权,相反,交易规模小的新加坡每日铁矿石价格的变化一直持续影响着大商所。这是为什么?

铁矿石定价权

虽然铁矿石期货从2009年才开始交易,但成交量增长十分迅猛。2016年,铁矿石期货日均成交额为70亿美元,相当于纽约商品交易所(NYMEX)WTI日交易额的20%,铁矿石已经成为市场上重要的投资品种。而作为全球最大铁矿石消费国,中国一直在争取铁矿石定价权以打破国外的指数垄断,从而改变中国的钢铁产业在成本端受制于人的局面。

高盛认为,相比大商所,在新交所的机构投资者更多,且个人投机者更少,这或许可以解释为何大商所的巨额成交量与定价权之间的相关性不大。在新交所,机构投资者进行90%的交易,但个人投资者主导了大商所70%的交易。因此,在大商所交易的换手率远远高于新交所。

不过,尽管大商所的整体影响力较新交所逊色,但高盛观察到,当铁矿石价格急剧下跌后出现企稳或者上涨时,大商所的影响力有上升的趋势。这可能与很多境内投资者有更强的投机动机相关。

今年以来,大商所铁矿石期货价格上涨了38%。在投机性交易的推动下,今年3、4月,国内铁矿石期货暴涨。大商所采取了一系列“降温”措施,包括提高该品种合约涨跌停板幅度、提高最低交易保证金、取消开平仓手续费优惠等,以防范潜在风险。8月,大商所的9月铁矿石期货合约再飙涨,一度突破4月投机热潮攀顶时创下的收盘高点。

因预期需求改善,大批中国投资者在年初时涌入大宗商品期货市场,不过彭博援引澳大利亚矿企FortescueMetalsGroup认为,如此高的投机交易水平很不健康。

业内人士认为,对比来看,在矿企做好“过冬”准备之际,中国钢铁行业在争夺话语权前,更该修练内功,从化解产能过剩、提高效率等各方面着手,应对“严冬”。